Working Together

Working together does have it’s advantages, but there can also be a few difficult aspects to it also. It does relieve the pressure of having to do so much work in a short space of time, and not feeling so alone while you’re doing it. Someone may struggle with one thing, but the other may have a solution to the task or situation.

Tuckman’s (1977) theory of team development outlined 5 stages that self-directed teams go through while working on a specific activity together. Those 5 stages are known as; Forming, storming, norming, performing and adjourning. 

I think as a group we are probably at the fourth stage of performing because everyone is doing their bit. I seem to have more responsibility on the campaign blog. I like it, I think to do this on my own it would have probably got overwhelming with so many things to keep running. One person has been doing the posters, the other has been focusing on the video, another person to manage the facebook page and I think it has all worked out well.

It goes without saying that we as students have so much work to do complete in the final year and although it is all about how we manage our time and use it wisely, it is always going to feel like there is never enough time to get so much work finished. Personally I have so much time to focus on blogging and the campaign, and I have been asking what needs to be done, or is there anything that I could take part in but there doesn’t seem to be any direction as to what next… I seem to be getting confused and it’s not being made clear. Everyone has their part to play and so do I with managing the campaign blog and tweeting using the hashtag #saynotostudentloneliness , I just want to make sure we’ve done everything we can.

One thought on “Working Together

  1. It is hard to work effectively with and for others. I find it really difficult. I think you’re coping well and producing some very good work in the process. It’s also great training for the future.

    Like

Leave a comment