What Sparked Our Campaign?

Personally I have experienced loneliness a number of times during my time studying at university especially after a loved one had passed away, others can experience it if hey have moved away to another university away from their family home. It can be overwhelming going from college education to studying a degree. It was nothing like I expected. Many of the students were over the age of 20 plus, I remember being 18 at the time, the youngest one. I felt stupid because the other students had already had so much knowledge on the units, they had done access courses. When and If I asked for help, I felt like I should already know these things. In the end, some of the students from the first year didn’t seem to want to put the time in to explain or help me with something and I did drop out. I had never felt so lonely in the first term. I really doesn’t get much awareness, I guess when people think of going to university you think of living with friends, not doing much work, going to lectures, or missing them, and going out for drinks, and getting up late and being around people a lot. I feel that I can reach out to people because I have experienced so much already, so when a girl in the final year had been feeling lonely after losing someone close to her, I decided to reach out and let her know that she wasn’t alone and that I have two ears if she ever wanted to talk. I hope that helped, but it was something as a group we could all relate to for one reason or another. The main objective of the campaign is to let students know that they are not alone, there are people around they can talk to and they can get support from various places!

3 thoughts on “What Sparked Our Campaign?

  1. The feeling when you realise your not alone, feels like the weight has been lifted from your shoulders. Opening up to you certainly made things easier and definitely helped. Tbh I think I would still be struggling if it wasn’t for you. 🙂 Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment